Welcome to my first bean-bake posting!

This bean bake is a delicious, rich mix of both vegetables with a tang of ginger and a hint of garlic. For meat-eaters, it would make a great complement to a roast beef or steak.

I decided to make this bean bake my first posted recipe because, in addition to being terrific taste-wise, it’s also a lovely bright yellow-orange. Not all bean bakes are both yummy and pretty at the same time. It all depends on the vegetables or fruits that you use. Think mushroom, and you’ll see what I mean. (Update: I just posted the Mushroom Bean Bake with Sage and Olive, and now you can see what I mean.)

I sprinkled cheese on the top because I was afraid that this bean bake would be bland. But it didn’t need the additional seasoning. It was very, very good just on its own.

Bon appétit!

Printer-friendly recipe

Makes 8 servings

Cooking tip: I used equal amounts of both vegetables, but feel free to use a different ratio. It would likely alter the taste somewhat in the direction of the larger amount of cauliflower or carrot.

Ingredients 

  • 2 cups white navy beans (19 oz. can), drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup cauliflower, cooked
  • 1 cup carrots, cooked
  • 3 eggs (don’t use a substitute)
  • 1½1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1½ tsps. minced ginger
  • ¾ tsp. minced garlic
  • Hot sauce (optional: I didn’t add any, but if you want this hotter, start with ½ tsp. and keep tasting.)
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • Cooking spray

Directions 

  1. Put all ingredients into a food processor and blend until smooth.
  2. Spray an 8″ or 9″ springform pan or a 9″x 9″ pan with cooking spray.
  3. Pour in batter; it will be thick but flow easily.
  4. Bake in 350° F oven for 40-45 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.
  5. Serve warm. (You can microwave a piece for 30 seconds if the bean bake has been in the refrigerator.)
