This bean bake has…

  • A light chocolate flavour.
  • A hint of orange.
  • A cake-like texture.

It’s delicious, and I’ve been eating it for breakfast. Yes, that’s right. One of the nicest things about sweet bean bakes is that they make a first-class breakfast because they are loaded with protein. I need protein and when it comes in the guise of chocolate, I’m a happy camper!

Even the spouse, who is not fond of chocolate (how is that possible?), likes this bean bake—although he did say that it would probably be better if it were topped with whipped cream.

Well, what wouldn’t??!!

I’m a dieter, and I know very well that everything I can eat would taste much more exciting if it were fried, blended, mixed, chopped, or topped with the foods I can’t eat.

And I told him so in no uncertain terms, thank you very much!

Printer-friendly recipe

Makes 8 pieces or slices

Ingredients

  • 2 cups white navy beans (19 oz. can), drained and rinsed
  • 2 clementine oranges, peeled and seeded
  • 3 eggs (no substitutes)
  • ½ cup sweetener
  • 1 tbsp. cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. vanilla extract
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • Cooking spray

Directions

  1. Put all ingredients into a food processor and blend until smooth.
  2. Spray a square 9″x 9″ pan or an 8″ or 9″ springform pan with cooking spray.
  3. Pour mixture into pan.
  4. Bake in 350° F oven for 40-45 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.
  5. Best served cold the next day.
