This bean bake was my very first experiment. Its texture was perfect, and its taste so subtle I was reminded of a specialty bread.

I was truly thrilled by it, and it inspired me to continue experimenting. Since then I’ve discovered how lucky I was to have such a successful first go.

As I may have mentioned, I’m still trying to make the perfect kiwi with lemon-lime bean bake, but to no avail. If it isn’t taste, it’s a texture problem. If it isn’t texture, it’s a taste issue.

This afternoon will be my 6th try! The kiwi marketers should give me an award or something.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

Printer-friendly recipe

Makes 8 servings

Ingredients 

  • 2 cups white navy beans (19 oz. can), drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup cauliflower, cooked
  • 3 eggs (don’t substitute)
  • ½ cup of a non-cow’s milk parmesan or romano (I use a sheep’s milk romano)
  • ¼ cup fresh dill
  • 12 small olives or 6 large olives, pitted (I had the colossal variety and used 4)
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • Cooking spray

Directions 

  1. Put all ingredients into a food processor and blend until smooth.
  2. Spray a 9 x 9″ square pan or an 8″ or 9″ springform pan with cooking spray.
  3. Bake in 350° F oven for 40-45 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.
  4. Serve warm.
